Cedarbrook Camp of Ohio Logo

Home
About
Camp Activities
Registration Information
Spring into Cedarbrook
Voyager Camp
CILT
Staff
Image/Video Galleries
Map & Driving Directions
Donations & Gifts
FAQ
Contacts

 

Free Weather Widget

 

Summer Address:
      5300 W. Loveland Rd
      Madison, OH 44057

History of Cedarbrook Camp of Ohio at Stony Glen

The history of Pioneer Girls camping in Ohio began with a one-week camp at a small campsite near Doylestown, Ohio in the summer of 1947. A group of women from all parts of the United States formed the first traveling team of Cherith staff members. Traveling together in several cars, they were called the Conestoga Caravan after the covered wagons that traveled west in the early frontier days. These women, with the help of Pioneer Girls Headquarters in Wheaton, Illinois, provided Ohio Camp Cherith with its first camp director and many of the first staff.

In 1948 and 1949, Ohio Camp Cherith was held at Camp Craig. The camp committee, with Wini Fay as chairman, and the camp director, Wren, prepared for fifty girls. Ninety-one girls showed up. In spite of a cold, damp week, all the girls wanted to come back the following year. In 1950, Ohio Camp Cherith moved to its present site at Stony Glen Camp.

The original camp site of 237 acres was purchased by a group of Christian businessmen with a heart and vision for developing a Christian camp for boys and girls. Originally, Stony Glen Camp was organized as a non-profit stock company. Today, Stony Glen Camp is governed by a Board of Trustees. From the beginning, Christian Service Brigade and Pioneer Girls were named as the organizations to be given priority in renting Stony Glen Camp for their activities. To this day, these two organizations, operating under their own board of directors, divide the summer camping season between them.

Stony Glen Camp is located in Lake County near Madison, in one of the most picturesque areas of north-east Ohio. Today's 350 acres are the homes of numerous birds and animals. A spectacular rock gorge with a stream and three waterfalls lie within the boundaries of the camp and provided the inspiration for the name, Stony Glen Camp. An old swimming hole beneath one of the falls was used for water activities until the lake was completed. Lake Milner, a beautiful man-made, spring-fed lake provides the camp with water for the bath houses, as well as the location for swimming and boating activities.

In the early years, Stony Glen Camp could definitely be defined as primitive. Drinking water was hauled in cans from a spring in the glen. There was no electricity, no telephone, an old-fashioned ice house (still in use in 1966), and latrines or outhouses. Hand washing and teeth brushing facilities were located outside, and the shower house had heated water for showers only when the sun was shining! The dining hall had gas lanterns on the walls and campers and staff were housed in platform tents.

The permanent buildings were largely financed by Cleveland Christian businessmen, local churches, and individual donations and bequests.

Milner Lodge, the first building (though sadly gone today), was an area log cabin that was purchased, dismantled, and moved to the edge of the glen. The present-day Rec Hall housed both the dining hall and kitchen for the first eight years.

Stoddard Lodge, named for the Chairman of the Cleveland Home and Flower Show, was built in 1953. Mr. Stoddard was instrumental in soliciting donations for the camp for many years. In the 1950's, Stoddard was used as the craft building and Sunday registration. In the late 1980's, Stoddard was given a face-lift, heaters, and was winterized for year-round use.

The summer cabins--Willow, Walnut, Maple, Hickory, Hawthorn, Hemlock, Juniper, and Poplar--were erected between 1951-1954. Screens were added in 1955. Most of the cabins have been restored and winterized for year-round use. Three of them were moved to the back forty where they await restoration for summer camp overnights.

The present-day Dining Hall and kitchen facility was constructed in 1958. Mr. George Donnely, for whom it was dedicated, was responsible for raising the funds for this building.

In 1960, the Rec Hall was remodeled, and in the early 1990's a furnace was added and the building winterized. In 1994, the beautiful stone fireplace was rebuilt.

The Cutter Shelter, built in 1960, was named for the lady who administered the funds given for its construction. Located on the edge of the glen, the shelter had a concrete floor, stone fireplace, and wooden roof making it ideal for rainy-day activities. Pews were added later and the shelter was used for rainy-day vespers and campfire programs. In 1994, the shelter was converted into a new winterized cabin with handicapped accessibilities and renamed Walnut Cabin.

Today, over sixty years later, all of the buildings are still in use. God has blessed Stony Glen with the addition of several new buildings: Crusader Cabin, Sam Gray, Don's Place, the Ron Park Memorial Gym, the Carl Smith Chapel, Mildon cabin, and the Patrick Cabin which has become the staff cabin during summer camp.

In 2009, the Ohio Camp Cherith board felt God’s leading to strengthen its ties with Stony Glen Camp so that together we might more effectively serve the children, families, and churches in our area; and so, Ohio Camp Cherith became Cedarbrook Camp™ of Ohio!

As a Cedarbrook Camp™, we enjoy membership in the Association of Cedarbrook Camps™, Inc, a group of like-minded camps committed to providing a quality Christian camping experience for girls and boys.  The ‘brook’ part of our new name links us to our past. God has faithfully protected and provided for us during the past 61 years. Now, we look forward to His continued blessing for our future as Cedarbrook Camp of Ohio. Our philosophy is the same, our program is the same, our staff is the same, and our location is the same. The only thing that changed is our name. We remain committed to our mission: to provide an outdoor living experience where campers can discover the joy of living the Christian life 24/7, so that girls and boys will be rooted and grounded in their faith.

back to About page

old pic of building at stony glen old pic of woman at Stoddard Lodge at stony glenold picture of building at stony glenold pic of cooks at stony glenold pic of U.S. flag at stony glenold pic of waterfalls at stony glenold pic of Milner lake and canoes at stony glenold pic of ladies at stony glenold pic of rec hall at stony glenold pic of girls at stony glenold pic of Milner lake at stony glen